About Us


AALSO members are the water quality and mechanical system professionals that move the water, design and maintain the systems, develop and distribute the products to manage the daily requirements for animals in our care at hundreds of facilities across the world. We care for the systems that make animal care possible. We are a 501 c6 nonprofit organization focusing on the education and training of aquatic life support operators around the world. We as an organization do not act as a consultant to our members directly regarding projects or problems, however we create a pathway for our members to learn about the latest technology in the industry and act as a forum for members to connect and discuss the care of aquatic animals in captivity. Formed in 1994 we are supported by the entire industry. From operators to vendors and researchers to administrators, we are the premier professional organization dedicated to this multifaceted discipline. If you have ever selected or maintained a pump, glued PVC pipe, adjusted an ozonator, measured dissolved oxygen, pH or ammonia, measured flow or temperature, open or closed a valve, chances are you are less than two removes from an AALSO member!


Mike Bajek

Wonders of Wildlife
Springfield, MO
Email Me

Dennis Ethier

Wildlife Conservation Society
New York Aquarium
Brooklyn, NY
Email Me  

Laurie Shaw

Steinhart Aquarium
San Francisco, CA
Email Me

Matt Regensburger

Georgia Aquarium
Atlanta, GA
Email Me

Board Of Directors

Jeff Gibula

Newport Aquarium
Newport KY,
Email Me

Karen Tuttle Stearns

Aquarium of the Pacific
Long Beach, GA
Email Me

Jeff Sedon

Disney World
Orlando, FL
Email Me

President's Advisory Council

Leo Lester

Malden, MA
 Email Me

Gennaro D'Alterio

Met-Pro Global Pump Solutions
Telford, PA
 Email Me

Amy Riedel-Stone

Aquatic Equipment and Design
Orlando, FL
 Email Me

Rick Davis

Walt Disney
Orlando, FL
 Email Me

Steve File

Ripley's Aquarium of Canada
Toronto, Canada
Email Me

Vendor Board of Directors

Ben Ashe

MDM Genesys Pumps
Colorado Springs, CO
Email Me

John Hale

RCK Controls
San Diego, CA
Email Me

Bill Weaver

Harrington Plastics
Easton, PA
Email Me

2016-2017 Committee Members

Email Us

Life Support Education & Certification

Matt Regensburger - Chair
Arnel Bautista
Mike Bajek
Micah Buster
Elizabeth Fisher
Matt Hoard
Steve Massar
John Masson
Bill Trethaway
Byron Waller

Water Quality Education & Certification

Laurie Shaw - Chair
Ajua Ampadu
Jeff Gibula
Susan Goodridge
Jeff Sedon
Karen Tuttle Stearns

Education and Training Program

Matt Hoard - Chair
Arnel Bautista
Mike Bajek
Steve Massar
Matt Regensburger


Jeff Gibula - Chair
Brian Dorne
Susan Goodridge
Matt Regensburger
Jeff Sedon
Iulia Siemen
Karen Tuttle Stearns


Dennis Ethier - Chair
Todd Devlin-Perry
Erik Holmberg
Ryan Leasure
Erin Murray
Rick Murray
Joe Poniatowski
Bill Weaver 

Sales & Marketing

Laurie Shaw - Chair
Anthony Benvenuto
Ted Kampe
Daryl McGill
Jennifer Nakayama
Kellie West

International & Recruitment

Mike de Maine - Chair
Joe Arlotto
Mike Bajek
Chris Eccles
Bruce Eernisse
Tom Eles
Nathalie Le Francois
George Tenhagen
Chris Warner

Social Media and Communication

Wes Schmidt - Chair
Austin Calpin
Emily Frank
Carissa Mendoza
Kristina Macias
Jenn Poniatowski
Anthony Benvenuto


The AALSO board is nominated and elected by Individual Members. Any Individual Member in good standing may be nominated, cast his or her vote, or fulfill a term as an officer or director. (Click here to be taken to the nomination form) Elections are held during the business meeting at the Annual Symposium. The current AALSO Board offers its suggested nominations in advance of the elections. All officers serve a minimum of a one year term and may only hold a position for three consecutive years.




Click Here